Oklahoma drivers can receive charges of driving under the influence with blood alcohol content of 0.08% or higher. In addition, law enforcement can arrest a motorist who cannot drive safely because of drug or alcohol impairment, regardless of his or her BAC.
Review the possible penalties for a DUI conviction in Oklahoma.
The state will charge a driver with misdemeanor DUI if he or she has no prior convictions. Penalties may include up to $1,000 in fines, 10 days to 12 months in jail and a 180-day license suspension. If the driver refused a breath test at the scene or had a BAC of 0.15% or higher, he or she must use an ignition interlock device for 18 months after license reinstatement.
Subsequent DUIs in the same 10-year period result in felony DUI charges in Oklahoma. For a second DUI, an offender could receive up to $2,500 in fines, one to five years in jail and license suspension for one year with a four-year IID requirement.
A third DUI in 10 years in Oklahoma can result in fines of up to $5,000 and up to 10 years in jail. The person must serve a three-year license suspension with a five-year IID requirement upon reinstatement.
Often, individuals can avoid jail time for an Oklahoma DUI by completing court-ordered substance use disorder assessment and treatment. The state also allows DUI offenders to apply for a limited license through the Impaired Driver Accountability Program. Individuals who have a commercial driver’s license are subject to additional penalties for DUI conviction.